

TUSAM REJECTS THE SWEARING-IN OF STATE CAPTURE ACCOMPLICES

28 August 2024

The United South Africa Movement (TUSAM) vehemently rejects the swearing-in of Brian Molefe, Siyabonga Gama, and Lucky Montana as members of the National Assembly. These individuals have been deeply implicated in state capture and other forms of corruption, and their appointment to any public office is a gross injustice to the people of South Africa. It also goes against the drive to heal and strengthen our democracy, following at least 2 decades of wanton institutional weakening and repurposing to benefit criminals.

The failure of the National Prosecuting Authority (NPA) to hold these implicated figures accountable is a betrayal of public trust. It is also a direct assault on the citizens and taxpayers of this country, who are now forced to pay the salaries of individuals highly implicated in the untold damage that has been done to the country and its people.

TUSAM calls on all South Africans to remember this day when they cast their votes in the 2026 local government elections. It is crucial that we punish those political parties that continue to protect and promote individuals who are tainted by corruption and criminality. Clean and good governance must be non-negotiable in our democratic society.

As TUSAM, we are committed to awakening the electorate. We are actively working on programmes and initiatives to strengthen informed citizen participation in our democracy. Our goal is to empower South Africans to make informed choices and to reject any party or politician whose conduct and utterances go against social cohesion, including those that enable and shield corruption and other abuses.

We urge all South Africans who are dedicated to building a better future for our country to partner with TUSAM on how, together, we can collectively move our country forward.

For further information or ways to support or partner with TUSAM, please write to info@tusam.co.za

More on TUSAM can be found on www.tusam.co.za

Core Working Group: SN Xaba, GJ Komane, FT Bold, NS Moeng, AS Mkhize, B Ndzuzo, M Hansen, P Coetzer, A. Mkhize, C.E. Zwiegelaar, J. Xanthios, L. De Bruin, N. Morais, V. Sibeko, M. Jabour

www.tusam.co.za

BANKING DETAILS